Green Tea in Skincare Products

Green tea extract is widely used in skin care products, but how effective is green tea when we apply it to skin? We know that green tea is rich in antioxidants and therefore it is good for health, but what is the difference between drinking green tea and applying green tea to skin?

Green Tea in Skincare Products

Where does green tea come from?

There are many different types of tea like green, white, black. All teas come from the same plant, namely Camellia sinensis.

White tea leaves are covered with fine white feathery hairs. White tea is harvested at an earlier age of the plant, while green tea is harvested a little later. And when green tea leaves undergo a fermentation process, as a result of which they not only acquire a black color, but also become stronger in taste, black tea is created. Green tea and white tea are steamed and then dried, so they retain a lot of antioxidants.

Green Tea

Green tea contains high amounts of the polyphenol epigallocatechin-3-gallate(EGCG). A 2001 study showed that applying EGCG to skin helps reduce oxidative stress by increasing antioxidant enzymes. Another study conducted in 2003 showed that treatment of green tea polyphenols prevents UVB-induced oxidation of lipids and proteins, depletion of antioxidant enzymes and phosphorylation.

In other words: oxidative stress causes damage to healthy cells. However, EGCG is a powerful antioxidant that protects skin from oxidative stress and UVB radiation damage. It also prevents the breakdown of collagen in the skin. Therefore, EGCG is actually a fantastic anti-aging ingredient.

A lot of research has been done and green tea extract has been shown to have a positive effect on rosacea treatment. If you suffer from rosacea, then it is definitely worth trying a product with green tea extract. The anti-inflammatory properties help reduce skin redness and swelling.

A cup of green tea (240 ml) contains about 20-40 mg of caffeine, and if you take too much caffeine (for example, 10 cups of green tea), this will have a counterproductive effect on skin. According to a 1998 study, having too much caffeine can lead to premature wrinkles. In addition, caffeine overdose symptoms include: nervousness, rapid or irregular heartbeat, insomnia, feeling fidgety or restless. For comparison, a cup of coffee contains 5 times more caffeine, so when drinking 2-3 cups of coffee a day you really have a chance to get premature wrinkles and above symptoms. Therefore, I advise you not to drink too much caffeine (green tea or coffee), but to apply it on the skin in a cream.

9 tips to help you relax

According to this article, green tea extract contains only 50% EGCG and this is a high percentage that has anti-inflammatory and anti-carcinogenic (and therefore anti-aging) effects on the skin. In addition, it depends on how much green tea extract is in the product. Studies show that 0.4% has positive effect on skin. Nevertheless, I have to make a small remark, because although studies show that EGCG has preventive anti-aging effect, there is not a single study that could show that this ingredient will improve existing wrinkles. Of course this isn’t bad! Prevention is always better than cure. Plus it is a good ingredient in sun care products, as you can deal with harmful effects of UV radiation.

Conclusion

When it comes to skin care products with green tea extract, this sounds unusual. Marketers often use this term to attract customers.  In addition, the manufacturer does not need to add a lot of this ingredient to cosmetics for a positive effect on the skin; only 0.4% is enough. Therefore, I think it is worth trying to use skincare products with green tea.

What do you think of drinking green tea and as an ingredient in skincare products?

3 Discussions on
“Green Tea in Skincare Products”

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Disclaimer

Зеленый чай в продуктах по уходу за кожей

Экстракт зеленого чая широко используется в продуктах по уходу за кожей, но насколько эффективен он, когда мы наносим его на кожу? Мы знаем, что зеленый чай богат антиоксидантами и поэтому полезен для здоровья, но в чем разница между употреблением и нанесением зеленого чая на кожу?

Green Tea in Skincare Products

Откуда берется зеленый чай?

Есть много разных видов чая: зеленый, белый, черный. Весь чаи происходит из одного и того же растения, а именно из Camellia Sinensis.

Листья белого чая покрыты тонкими белыми пушистыми волосками. Белый чай собирают ранней весной, в то время как зеленый чай собирают немного позже. После сбора, листья зеленого чая подвергаются процессу ферментации, в результате которого они приобретают черный цвет и становятся более крепкими на вкус – так создается черный чай. Зеленый и белый чай обрабатывают паром, а затем подсушивают на солнце, поэтому в них сохраняется много антиоксидантов.

Green Tea

Зеленый чай содержит большое количество эпигаллокатехин-3-галлата (EGCG). Исследование 2001 года показало, что нанесение EGCG на кожу помогает снизить окислительный стресс за счет увеличения количества антиоксидантных ферментов. Другое исследование, проведенное в 2003 году, показало, что лечение полифенолами зеленого чая предотвращает вызванное ультрафиолетом окисление липидов и белков, истощение антиоксидантных ферментов и фосфорилирование.

Другими словами: окислительный стресс вызывает повреждение здоровых клеток. Тем не менее, EGCG является мощным антиоксидантом, который защищает кожу от окислительного стресса и ультрафиолетового излучения. Это предотвращает распад коллагена в коже. Таким образом, EGCG является фантастическим антивозрастным ингредиентом.

Было проведено много исследований, и было доказано, что экстракт зеленого чая положительно влияет на лечение розацеа. Если вы страдаете розацеа, то обязательно попробуйте продукт с экстрактом зеленого чая. Противовоспалительные свойства помогают уменьшить покраснение и отечность кожи.

Чашка зеленого чая (240 мл) содержит около 20-40 мг кофеина. И если вы пьете слишком много кофеина (например, 10 чашек зеленого чая), это отрицательно скажется на вашей коже. Согласно исследованию 1998 года, слишком много кофеина может привести к преждевременным морщинам. Кроме того, симптомы передозировки кофеина включают: нервозность, учащенное или нерегулярное сердцебиение, бессонницу или чувство беспокойства. Для сравнения, в чашке кофе содержится в 5 раз больше кофеина, поэтому, выпивая 2-3 чашки кофе в день, у вас действительно есть шанс получить преждевременные морщины и другие симптомы перечисленные выше. Я советую не пить слишком много кофеина (зеленого чая или кофе), а наносить его на кожу в виде крема.

9 tips to help you relax

Согласно этой статье экстракт зеленого чая содержит 50% EGCG это высокий процент, который оказывает противовоспалительное и антиканцерогенное (и, следовательно, антивозрастное) воздействие на кожу. Кроме того, это зависит от того, сколько экстракта зеленого чая содержится в продукте. Исследования показали, что 0,4% достаточно для положительного влияния на кожу. Но все таки я должна сделать небольшое замечание, хоть исследования и доказывают, что EGCG оказывает профилактическое омолаживающее действие, нет ни одного исследования, которое могло бы доказать, что этот ингредиент улучшит уже существующие морщины. Это не плохо. Профилактика всегда лучше лечения! Также, это хороший ингредиент в средствах по уходу за солнцем, потому что он помогает бороться с вредным воздействием ультрафиолетового излучения.

Заключение

Когда речь идет о средствах по уходу за кожей с экстрактом зеленого чая, это звучит привлекательно. Маркетологи часто используют этот термин для привлечения клиентов. Кроме того, производителю не нужно добавлять много этого ингредиента в косметику для положительного воздействия на кожу; достаточно всего 0,4%. Поэтому я думаю, что однозначно стоит попробовать средства по уходу за кожей с зеленым чаем.

Что вы думаете о зеленом чае? Часто ли пьете зеленый чай? Используете ли косметику с этим ингредиентом в составе?

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published.

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Disclaimer